Trout fishing Spring 2008

Trout Fishing Spring 2008


 May 29, 2008

Camanche Trout!

After six weeks of not fishing due to one excuse or another, I finally hit Camanche Reservoir with my fishing buddy, John.

We were fishing by about 9:00 that morning, and for a change we had quite a good day of fishing. Our last two outings on Camanche were skunks, not something one likes to brag about.

John’s big one weighed in at 5 1/4 pounds, mine weighed  4 1/2 Lbs. I caught one more trout at about 1 Lb., John caught four more.We managed seven fish between us, two for me and five for John. About half the action was on John’s frog pattern Needlefish, half on small 2″ Fire Tiger BBRs.

The trout are getting pretty ugly now, every fish had sores as the water is getting too warm. This is the last Camanche trip ’til it cools down in the fall.

John’s 5 1/4 Lb. Beauty.

There were a lot of fish feeding on the surface most of the day. We caught half of our fish near the surface, the rest down as deep as 27 feet.


Note: Photos of prior trips during March and April were lost in the transfer to this site. 

About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishin' with "Sturgeon" John, Trout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

