Wildlife Photos

Wildlife Photos

Lord knows I’m not much of a shutter-bug, but once in awhile I get lucky.

April 22, 2009

steppin-out-pelicans

The pelicans just shuckin’ and jivin’ on Camanche Lake while I trolled for trout. The pelicans are there by the dozen…


The grebes are on Camanche now by the hundreds – maybe thousands. 


I believe dozens of honkers live permanently on Camanche’s Big Hat Island – free of predators. They’re a noisy lot!

I think the pelicans are the coolest marine birds ever – they fly so dignified and dive like arrows. I’d come back as a pelican if given the chance! The grebes are overly gifted fishermen and I envy them. Life is so good if you’re a seabird in April on Camanche Lake!

===================

2009-4bonapartes-gull-2In April of 2009 I happened to catch this incredible shot, probably my best ever. I was fishing on the Delta and these Bonaparte’s Gulls hang around looking for handouts. I had just tossed a shad his way which can be seen in his bill. He just happened to fold his wings as I shot – I was very lucky!


A Blue Heron rests on Light 25 below Rio Vista, Ca – November 30, 2010.


About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

