2009 Trout Fishing

Finally! The 1st fish comes aboard FishWisher III!

March 10, 2009  

I had hoped to bring a mighty sturgeon aboard as the first fish landed on my new boat, but that didn’t happen during my sturgeon trip last month. I have settled for this little 1½ pound rainbow I caught at Camanche Lake. I had several other hits that didn’t stick, and my fishing buddy, John, caught two trout of about a pound each. 

I was relieved and very pleased to find that the boat trolled at a slow 2½ MPH which is just fine for trout fishing. I won’t be worrying about dragging a chute as I troll or buying a kicker motor.

 

John trolled two rods as did I. I trolled mostly with a small FireTiger Rapala and a frog pattern flat spinner. John used several types of lures, and green seemed to be the color. We didn’t even bother to take the downriggers as we were sure the fish were near the surface. As the weather warms, they’ll be deeper. 

Wifey will be visiting the surgeon for her foot next week, and we’re hoping she’ll get the cast off. After that, it’s fishing time for ol’ FishWisher just about every week for the foreseeable future. Well, except for the occasional motorhome trip, perhaps. I hope to be posting a lot more action soon!


 

 

 

About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishin' with "Sturgeon" John, Fishing Trout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

