No sturgeon – but caught my best wildlife photo ever!

Another grand adventure to Brannan Island State Park for more sturgeon fishing!

April 8-10, 2009


This week’s adventure found me back at Brannan Island for a couple days of fishing. I timed it to include rain this time, but there was little to no wind, and just some rain doesn’t stop me. Wind is an entirely different story.

2009-4bonapartes-gull-2I got lucky with this photo! I had just tossed the shad, then shot this photo. I happened to catch the beauty of his outstretched wing – and the shad still in his bill. I’ve never had a photo turn out this well and it was pure luck – and I’ll take blind luck every time if it’s up to me!

On the first day of fishing, off Decker Island on the Sacramento River below Rio Vista, Calif., this Bonaparte’s Gull hung around most of the day. I had brought along some old, frozen shad that must be six months old. I planned to feed it to the birds, not for bait, and this beauty was the first to check me out. Once he began feasting on the shad, he chased any other gull that tried to get in on the handout.

The trip itself was pretty damp. I didn’t get rained on the first day as I fished near Decker Island. I gave it my best there for 4½ hours and didn’t get so much as a bump. I fished with the usual eel, and after putting in the time I headed back to Brannan for a night’s rest in the coach.

Trying in the rain… it just wasn’t meant to be this trip.

The next day I headed downriver for a try at my honey hole on Suisun Bay. I cruised through rain the entire trip down, but arrived over the honey hole in good spirits. I fished an entire incoming tide – for about 6½ for the same results as the day before up near Decker Island. Some days you just cannot buy a sturgeon!

The video of this trip is on YouTube here. Thanks for the visit!


About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Sturgeon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

