Camanche Trout

Camanche Trout Fishing

April 22, 2009


 


Willie and I (Or is that Mutt and Jeff?) pose with the day’s catch. It was a perfect day on Camanche Lake.

Camanche Lake is owned by East Bay Municipal Utilities District. The lake lies in rolling foothills about 35 miles northeast of Stockton, Ca. EBMUD stocks the lake with trout. Black bass and crappie are also found in the lake’s 150 foot maximum depth. The lake is 7800 acres in size with a 75 mile shoreline. Camping and many outdoor activities are available. The lake’s website is http://www.camancherecreation.com.


In violation of the captain’s standing orders, Willie caught the biggest fish of the day at 3¼ pounds. He knows full well that the captain is supposed to catch the first and the biggest fish every trip.


I’ve fished Camanche for trout a number of times, and the great attraction for me is that ten pound trout are taken quite often. The lake record is over 19 pounds! My personal best trout was a six pounder taken at Camanche in February of 2007.

My friend Willie and I headed to Camanche on Wednesday for a day of trolling for trout. I had the downriggers mounted, the trout tackle box was on board, and we drove the 45 or so miles to the lake with our usual optimism. When we arrived we were delighted to learn that the main south shore ramp was finally re-opened; it has been closed for at least a year due to low water. It was a real treat to launch at an otherwise empty ramp! Being retired means week-day fishing and no crowds!

We cruised toward Hat Island and began trolling as we approached it. Before we got all four lines out, we had two fish on and in the boat. The second trout was the biggest of the day at 3¼ Lbs. Within the first hour we had another fish in the box! After that great start, the action slowed considerably. After trolling for five hours, we had a total of five fish. The weather was very warm; it reached 93° in the afternoon. For a while we were too warm, but an afternoon breeze kicked up and kept us quite comfortable.



After the day’s fishing, we loaded the boat on the trailer and headed for home.

So it seems summer time trout fishing is here. I had originally planned to again fish Suisun Bay for sturgeon this week, but the wind predictions were very summer like – meaning consistent winds to around 20 MPH and gusting even higher. I don’t do wind if I can help it, and that’s why I fish the foothill lakes during the windy delta summers. Maybe next week I’ll chase sturgeon!


About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishin' with "Stockton" Willie, Fishing Trout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

