Camanche Lake Trout Fishing

Camanche Trout!

May 14, 2009

Lake Camanche is my favorite trout lake due to the big ones that come out of their on a regular basis. While I really wanted to hit Suisun Bay for more sturgeon fishing this week, the wind dictated that I fish elsewhere. So I mounted the downriggers, loaded up for a trout trip and headed for the foothills.

Another fisherman holds up his eight pounder plus another I’d guess around five pounds. The fella told me that he catches the big ones by fishing early in the morning.

I didn’t start fishing ’til after 0900, and the fishing had slowed somewhat by then. My trolling pattern was mostly between Hat Island and the dam and in that general area of the lake. My first – and biggest – fish of the day hit hard on a Rapala Firetiger and fought furiously. He finally landed in the net after several runs from the boat – and weighed in at two pounds. It felt good to kick the skunk out of the boat after last week’s big zero at Hogan Lake.

2009 Trout Fishing

My two pounder; note the normal tail is squared, not rounded as Camanche trout are. I understand they get rounded at the hatchery. Perhaps this one was planted when he was a fingerling.

I continued trolling for a total of about seven hours. I caught three more smaller trout for a total of four, and kept at it longer than I might have for that limit fish #5. The limit was not to be – but I’m not complaining.

My rather humble stringer of Lake Camanche Trout.

The fish hit on a variety of lures including the Rapala mentioned above, one came on a trout pattern Needle Fish and another came on a Rapala trout pattern. I trolled one side at about 10 to 15 feet, the other around 20 to 23 feet. I never did troll the surface as I saw no fish feeding on the surface. The fish I marked were at about 20 to 25 feet.

Perhaps the wind will lie down next week and I can go on another Suisun Bay sturgeon adventure. Whatever the case, I plan to be out there fishing for something!



 

About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishing Trout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

