Brannan Island Fishing June 2009

California Delta Fishing

June 2-4, 2009

Brannan Island Fishing June 2009
Johnny, my friend John’s son, poses with their 15# striper caught while trolling near the Rio Vista Bridge. 

I lost two weeks of fishing when my Humminbird chartplotter/fish finder refused to light up. It worked just fine, but I couldn’t see a thing. Thanks to Humminbird’s repair service, I was able to ship it to the factory for repair and got it back in about a week. I wasn’t about to fish the Delta without it!

I hooked the boat up to the motor home and headed to Brannan Island State Rec Area on Tuesday the 2nd, planning to head downriver about 25 miles to Suisun Bay for some sturgeon fishing. The plan was for my friend Willie to meet me at the boat Wednesday morning, and that my friend John and his son Johnny would tow their fine Hewescraft to the ramp and join us for the day. Everyone showed up as agreed, but we chose a very windy week for our trip, thinking the wind would calm down the day we planned to fish. But when we got out on the Sacramento River it was just too windy and rough for a 25 mile cruise. We braved the wind and waves for a few minutes but as conditions worsened, we chose to head upriver to the “Old Sac” and fish around the small town of Isleton. John and Johnny trolled along the river bank near the Rio Vista bridge where they caught the big 15 pounder and also a 21″ striper which they released. They also caught two other small keepers as they bait fished on the river later in the day.

Willie and I bait fished with shad and eel at the Isleton Bridge and also off Decker Island in the afternoon when the tide changed and the river settled down. We caught just a shaker striper each that day, and tossed them back.

We also tried a second trip downriver in the afternoon, hoping it was calmer. We got most of the way downriver before having to turn back at the big PG&E power plant across from Simmons Point. At least we tried our best to get to the sturgeon grounds. 

Brannan Island Fishing June 2009
Two coaches launching boats at the same time at Brannan’s boat ramps. That’s my coach in the foreground; campground neighbors Ken and Howard were launching in the background. They planned to fish the area for several days.

 

Brannan Island Fishing June 2009

 

Parked at the RV area of Brannan Park.

Brannan Island Fishing June 2009
John and Johnny aboard John’s EZ-Duz-It, bait fishing off Decker Island on the Sacramento River.

I spent the night in the coach, then loaded up the boat on Thursday morning and headed for home. This was not the most productive trip nor the most pleasant weather, but we did go fishing, and that’s really all a feller can ask for.

Our hope is that next week will be calmer and that we can make it down to Suisun Bay for some good sturgeon fishing. If we don’t get down there next week, I’ll likely give up my Delta fishing ’til the fall as it is too windy for comfort nearly every day of the summer.



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishin' with "Sturgeon" John, Striped Bass. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

