Camanche for the last time this season…

Camanche Reservoir Trout Fishing

June 11, 2009

I’d love to post a photo with a stringer of about 15 pounds, but it ain’t gonna happen this week:

This little one pound rainbow will have to do it this week – and I didn’t even know he was on the line ’til I popped the line loose from the downrigger cable to change lures.The slim pickins weren’t for lack of trying. I began trolling 20′ to 30′ at 0845 and kept at it ’til 1500. Some of the time I tried bait fishing with Berkeley’s Power Bait, but that didn’t garner any interest, either. I marked several fish as I trolled, but they weren’t buying. One fella stopped to chat with me as I was tying the boat down after my fishing and said that last week they had two limits in four hours – and no fish at all this week. So it goes.

One cannot complain too much when spending the day trolling…

…or bait fishing.

Camanche is a relatively shallow lake – and quite warm in the summertime. The surface temperature was 72° during this week’s visit, and the trout have moved down to about 30′. Still, it gets too warm for trout and very soon the trout will start displaying sores on their skin from the warm environment.

Even my usually feeble attempts at wildlife photography were limited to a buzzard!

With the delta summer wind pattern seemingly in place already, my fishing will now be on New Hogan Reservoir for stripers and New Melones and Pardee Reservoirs for trout – and an occasional kokanee. Life is good! 



 

 

About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishing Trout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

