Fishing New Melones Reservoir

New Melones Lake Fishing

June 18-19, 2009


New Melones Lake Stanislaus River Arm and the Highway 49 Bridge.

I haven’t fished New Melones for a couple of years. When I had the C-Dory, I enjoyed anchoring for the night in a cove, then dangling a night crawler over each side of the boat and waiting for a trout to come along and take a bite. I would fish under a light which would attract bait fish which would attract trout. Well, that’s how it’s supposed to work. And there was the trolling for trout and kokanee, too. I’d usually head home with a limit on the second day.

But this trip was not like past trips. I did the night crawler under the light thing for hours – and not one taker. I don’t know why there was no action. I trolled for several hours the first day before anchoring – and caught one kokanee of about 10 inches, and released it. The next morning I caught another kokanee of about 12 ” or so as soon as I started trolling, and that was it for the whole trip.

And there are the lake lice to consider. (Lake lice = water skiers,
jetskiers, etc.) New Melones is very popular with the speed crowd, and that does not help the fishing nor my quest for peace and quiet.

Admittedly, my second day (Friday morning) was very short; I noticed the numbers of lake lice on the water and even more arriving at the ramp. I don’t care to share the lake with so many people, so I left for home about 0930. This week’s adventure was not my most enjoyable fishing trip.

And then there is the new toll booth one must pay to visit the lake. New Melones has had free admission for many years but that ended last year. All in all, this was not one of my better visits to New Melones Lake. Maybe I should consider another lake for my next adventure. Perhaps nearby Pardee Reservoir, where there is only fishing and no body contact allowed. It is a more expensive lake to visit, but the peace and quiet without the lake lice might be well worth it. Stay tuned.



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Trout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

