August 4, 2010 New Hogan Lake

Another Foolish Try at Hogan

August 4, 2010


Like a senile old geezer, I just can’t learn… I got skunked again on Hogan –  as is par for the course for me there nowadays. I trolled shad and anchovies at various depths from 10′ to 40′ from about 10:00 a.m to 2:30 p.m. I had one taker that popped the clip and stole an anchovy, but that was it. I talked to another old fool doing the same as me – he also got skunked. 

Above, the round buoys of the old dam are still floating – the water is about 20′ higher than a year ago. Below, summer of 2009 the buoys are hanging from the structure of the old dam, high and dry.

 

I watched another troller towing around at least one striper on a stringer. I didn’t talk to him, though. It would have just made me feel bad.

A couple of younger fellers were leaving when I left and they had six stripers! They had been chasing boils down at the southern end of the lake where the lake flows into Slate, Whiskey and Bear creeks, I guess. I didn’t see a boil while I was fishing.

August 4, 2010 New Hogan Lake

Shore anglers, their boat beached (L), are striper fishing. I’ve seen photos of the many stripers these shore anglers catch, and maybe this is the best way to fish Hogan. 

I know, I know, I know, I need to fish earlier or later. And I had planned to spend the night and do just that, but after four hours of nuthin’, I didn’t much look forward to spending the night on the floor of the boat. So, disgusted once again with Hogan, I gave up. Maybe I’ll chase boils next time…


New Hogan Still Not Producing

June 29, 2010

August 4, 2010 New Hogan Lake

Mondo and I enjoying a sunny boat ride.

I headed to Hogan again, having sworn it off several times in the past couple of years, and this time took my old friend, Mondo. He hasn’t fished before, and the whole concept of boat fishing, including trolling, downriggers, modern electronics, etc. was new to him. In spite of all the fancy equipment, however, we couldn’t get a striper to the boat. We had two on, but neither stuck. Nevertheless, it we had a nice boat ride.

After trolling for five hours, I took Mondo on a high speed tour of the lake, from the upriver canyon to Slate Creek. 

 

It was good to see only the new dam. The old dam was still hidden. Last year at this time the water was about 20 feet lower and the old dam was high out of the water.

 

Too bad we weren’t goose hunting; there were plenty of geese on the water when we visited.

We trolled shad and anchovies at 20′ and 30′ for five hours. We had three strikes, two fish on briefly, but none to the boat. I’m thinking I need to do an overnighter this summer to try bait under a light at anchor, and also trolling late evening and early morning. There has to be a key to this lake that I just haven’t adapted to as things have changed the past couple of years. Or not; maybe it’s time to just give up on this lake. But I do love catching Hogan stripers!


 

About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishing Striped Bass. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

