August 25, 2010 New Hogan Again!

A New Technique at Hogan (and still skunked!)

August 25, 2010


I know what my problem is – I keep trying to catch fish at this dumb lake because of glories past. That’s not uncommon for us old geezers, I don’t suppose, but it sure seems foolish.

What really hurts is to read the occasional report of other fishermen who do catch stripers at Hogan, and I just can’t seem to. And as mentioned earlier, the shore fishing has been good this year for most.

The weather forecast was for 103° at New Hogan, and the hottest days of the year are usually the best days to fish stripers on Hogan. I had to try again.

I figured that my problem was due to my trolling speed. Ever since got the new boat, I’ve done lousy at Hogan. So I ordered two 18″ drogues (sea anchors) to drag on either side of the boat. I thought they would slow me from about 2.5 MPH to the 1 MPH most folks troll the lake. It didn’t work; I was still trolling at over 1.5 MPH. So I added the large 30″+ drogue I use on the delta to steady the boat in breezy conditions. With that large drogue added to the two smaller ones, I got down to about 1.3 MPH.

Videos of the day on Hogan, showing the drogues in use, are here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNyLUuZXEcs

 

August 25, 2010 New Hogan Again!

Was this full moon part of my problem?

Slowing down my trolling speed didn’t help. But I think some of my problem was the full moon that shined all night long over Hogan – and by sunup the stripers were likely stuffed from feeding on shad all night long. That’s as good an excuse as any, I suppose, and I’ll go with it for this trip’s excuse.

August 25, 2010 New Hogan Again!

This is part of my addiction: Hogan is a great place to fish.

I gave it my best for five hours or so, trolling as slow as I could, keeping the bait fresh every hour, and keeping the lines up to 200 feet behind the boat. Once again, nothing seemed to work.

My next change will be to give up the RSK holders that I mount the bait in, and go back to the more primitive holders. If there is a next time, and by past experience there always is a next time, perhaps that will help.

Someday, I’ve just got to have another good day of striper CATCHING on New Hogan Reservoir.



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Striped Bass. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

