September 2010 Camanche Trout Fishing

Trout Fishing at Camanche Reservoir

September 8, 2010

After five skunks on Hogan this summer, I have finally wised up and returned to Camanche for some trout fishing…

September 2010 Camanche Trout FishingIt was breezy, choppy and cool. But we were fishing – and actually catching for a change!

My friend, Willie, joined me for today’s trip to Camanche Lake, near Valley Springs, California. We left my place at 0500, and were fishing by 0700. We arrived at Camanche to discover we were the only rig in the South Shore lot. Uh-oh. What did everyone know that we didn’t, except that it was a cool, breezy morning? When we returned to the ramp a bit after noon, we were still the only rig in the lot! Even so, a few other boats were on the lake, likely launched from the North Shore ramp.  

September 2010 Camanche Trout FishingNot the best trout, perhaps, and certainly not the biggest, but Willie took ’em home for dinner. I guessed they were about 1 Lb. each.

The first fish hit at 0855 on a white grub near the surface. The second took a brown grub around noon as I was reeling in for the day. It had been on the downrigger at about 20 feet or so. He seemed fresh and feisty, so he hadn’t been on long – he may have hit just as I broke the line free of the downrigger.   I haven’t fished Camanche since April, and it was good to be back even on a cool, breezy day. We actually had the heater running in the morning, but it warmed up near noon as the sun broke through the clouds.
September 2010 Camanche Trout Fishing

The rescued downrigger weight that we almost lost.

While trolling near the bank, I managed to snag a submerged tree with one of my brand new 12 pound downrigger weights. These babies are expensive and I didn’t want to lose it, so Willie and I spent about 15 minutes circling the snag, working ’til we almost gave up when finally the branch broke free and we raised it to the surface. We finally got the weight back on the boat and continued trolling.

This trip marks the end of summer fishing for me. After some RVing in the coming weeks, I’ll begin sturgeon fishing on my beloved delta in October. I’ll likely do a few more trout trips to Camanche this fall when the weather is uncooperative on the delta, but I’m really looking forward to some exciting sturgeon fights soon!



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishin' with "Stockton" Willie, Trout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

