The Latest – and last – (I always say that) “FishWisher”!

FishWisher IV Arrives!

My, my, my. I’ve done it again! After buying and selling three boats since the dementia episode of three years ago when for some crazy reason I sold my beloved C-Dory 22′ Angler, I have a new C-Dory! Well… she’s new to me!

November 24, 2010: Here’s my baby the day I brought her home. Note the black color – I hated that black!

February 22, 2010: She sits at Buckley Cove launch ramp in Stockton, ready for her first cruise.

All went well and I’ll be taking her fishing soon. The color has been changed to burgundy. During the three months between the above photos, many projects were completed to set her up just as I wanted. Those projects are here.

She’s a 2009 C-Dory Angler 22, and is the same hull as was my older ’87 model. Yep! They’re still making the exact same hull 23 years later – what does that say about success?!

She came equipped with a Honda 90, Raymarine A 70D FF/GPS/Chartplotter and a Uniden VHF DSC marine radio, hydraulic steering, raw water washdown , that incredible SS arch on her roof – and much more.

About C-Dorys…

Some owners have referred to their C-Dorys as water jeeps. They are lightweight, have a flat bottom, high sides and a sharp prow (the definition of a dory). They pop up on plane very quickly and are very economical to run. While a dory is not as smooth through a chop or rough water as a deep-V hull, it is very stable and seaworthy. One must simply slow down a bit in choppy conditions.

C-Dorys are made in Washington State. The first one was delivered – via water! – to Alaska. C-Dorys continue to be a very popular boat in Alaskan waters, and there is a C-Dory dealer in Juneau.

I find the C-Dory 22′ Angler to be about the prettiest little boat afloat. The flared, high prow and strakes along the hull look very traditional  – and provide a very dry ride.

The fully enclosed cabin is the greatest attraction for me. I’ve spent many a night on the delta and foothill lakes in the cozy V-berth of my first C-Dory. I’ve never found such comfort in any other small, sea-worthy boat. And the little galley table and twin benches on either side make for great comfort during cool weather.



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Boats I Have Loved. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Latest – and last – (I always say that) “FishWisher”!

  1. John & Carole Lee Doberneck says:

    Dale,

    Congrats on the new boat !! It will suit you well.

    John & CL…. (the red North River from Delta Marina)

  2. Roger says:

    Dale ( “FISHWISHER” ),

    Wow what a beautiful boat! So, I guess us Old Timer’s need to get out of the weather and we need a cabin to stay warm! I also wanted to tell you how I’ve enjoyed your site for all the fishing adventures and the updated fishing reports.

    I just sold my NR Bayhawk due to non use and health reasons. The same set-up like yours, except the side had a black and small silver line not red. You should sell it pretty easy, their great boats, well made. Thanks for your adventures, Roger

  3. Pingback: End of My So-So 2010 Sturgeon Season | FishWisher's Home Page

  4. Suzanne says:

    Congratulations on getting out of the dementia era and back into a C-Dory. What a great boat.

  5. FishWisher says:

    Thanks, Suzanne. You know, a mind is a terrible thing to waste! I hope to stay focused in the future and NEVER sell another C-Dory.

  6. Jim Gibson says:

    Dale-

    Welcome back to the C-Dory World. Glad to see your return!

    Jimmy

  7. Anonymous says:

    FishWisher’
    Are you still using the 9 pound anchor on the C-Dory? I want to use the same setup you had on the NorthRiver but i wonder if the 9 pound is big enough to hold a 20 aluminum with off shore bracket in the current around chain island.

  8. Dale,
    Glad I found your blog & your C-Dory post. We’ve got a 2008 22′ Angler. When we lived in California, we used to take it out of Bodega Bay. Up here in Alaska, we’ve taken it out of Haines, Whittier, Seward and Homer. Just posted a photo of her along with a little write-up on our blog (the link is below my name). BTW, we took the opportunity to tour the new C-Dory factory a couple of years ago–got a personal tour from the owner. Great boats.
    Tight lines,
    Jack Donachy
    donachyblog.worpress.com

  9. FishWisher says:

    Hi Jack, Thanks for the visit. I checked out your site and added it to my favorites. You’ve done a good job there. I like the simple way you have of navigating around the various posts. I love the color of your C-Dory; I paid dearly to have mine gelcoated to the burgundy and it turned out much darker than I expected since the original color was black. I can’t imagine anyone wanting a black boat!

    I envy you the move out of Kalifornistan – I’d love to move to a southern state, but Wifey ain’t buying any of that.

    Thanks again for the visit.

    • Dale,
      We’ll get back out fishing May thru early August, and will post pics & stories about halibut, lings, rockfish and salmon then, so take a look this summer. Am enjoying looking at your posts from California & Oregon (used to live in Astoria and fish salmon, rockfish and sturgeon there).

Leave a Reply

