End of My So-So 2010 Sturgeon Season

The 2010 Sturgeon Season Closer

Nov 29 – Dec 1, 2010


The little 32 incher that was released on Tuesday.

As I reeled in my line this Wednesday afternoon, December 1, my sturgeon season came to a close. It had been the last day of another three day Delta Adventure as I spent the nights aboard the coach at Delta Marina in Rio Vista. I spent Monday afternoon at Light 25 near Rio Vista, and Tuesday and Wednesday at my honey hole on Suisun Bay, a 23 mile cruise downriver from Delta Marina in Rio Vista.  The only action I could muster over the three days was Tuesday afternoon when a small, 32″ or so sturgeon took my lamprey. After reeling him in, I released him to grow to keeper size.

Steam rising straight up, unmolested by any breeze – and a flat calm river. It was a grand three days on the California Delta – except for the cold.

My very official “2010 California Sturgeon Fishing Report Card” showed that I had caught six sturgeon this year. Three of them were keepers to 57″, three of them were shakers, or under the 46″ minimum and too small to keep.  All six were released and I did not use any of my three allotted sturgeon tags. By comparison, the 2009 report card showed 11 keepers, nine of them released. 2010 was a bit below average season for me, I suppose.


This heavily laden landing craft cruised past, heading upriver as I fished on Monday just below Rio Vista. My guess is that some farm operations on remote islands of the delta have to ship fuel in via the river.

My season closed at the end of November – or actually December 1 this year – as I’m just too old and wise to fish the cold of December and January. Fishing in cold, freezing weather is just no fun anymore.

This last trip held near-perfect weather for cruising down to Suisun Bay – it was just flat gorgeous all three days. Tuesday was the coldest, and I kept my little Mr. Heater running most of that day. The dock was frosty that morning, and frankly, no fun at all. But once I was in the boat with the little heater, I was quite comfortable.


The icy dock and boat on Tuesday morning.

On my fishing trips the past three years, I’ve had to raise anchor and head for the dock because I couldn’t fish late into the night, sleep on the boat, and fish again early the next morning. Overnighting on lakes and the delta was my norm when I had my beloved C-Dory, and I really enjoyed the ability to overnight. Well! Things have changed, and during December and January I’ll be fitting out my new C-Dory. My  next trip, probably during a warming trend in February, I’ll be towing my new C-Dory and spending nights afloat once again. I can hardly wait! The new boat has its own page here.

The warm afternoon at Light 25 on Tuesday afternoon…

…became the cold of Wednesday morning on Suisun Bay.

My very seaworthy North River will soon be for sale. She’s a very beamy, deep and stable boat. When I have her ready to sell, I’ll add a link here to an online ad, and anyone interested can contact me via the ad.

Sold!

And now… the new boat projects begin!

Note: I added photos of the Delta to my photo page here.



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishing + RVing = Comfort, Fishing Sturgeon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of My So-So 2010 Sturgeon Season

  1. erick says:

    Had questions about your sturgeon rig. Just recently started tying my own with 60lb Mono. Wondering what you use.

    Thanks,

    Erick

  2. FishWisher says:

    Erick – I use 80# mono for my leaders. A photo of one of my leaders and other tackle info is on my tackle page here: https://fishwisher.wordpress.com/2009/01/02/sturgeon-tackle-choices/

Leave a Reply

