The End of Sturgeon Season ’til Fall

Sturgeon Season Ends With a Whimper…

May 19, 2011

More of the same: waiting… waiting… waiting for the bite that never came.

OK – I give up! My last two trips – both to the Sacramento River near the Rio Vista area – ended with skunks. Nada. Zero. No sturgeon activity whatsoever. And that’s the end of the 2011 springtime sturgeon chases. Oh, they’re still out there, alright, I read of come catches this week, but not for me.

The fact is, I quit both recent trips early due to wind. I HATE WIND! Although I had stores aboard for two-day trips, I headed home the first day in the late afternoon due to increasing winds and less than comfortable conditions. I had hoped to cruise down to Suisun Bay this last trip,  but after reading forecasts of “winds to 10 MPH”, I discovered a small craft warning for winds to 25 MPH on Suisun Bay after I had launched the boat. I didn’t bother heading for Suisun; I headed home in the late afternoon after about seven hours of trying at Decker Island and Light 25. What a wimp I have become.

And now the foothill lakes beckon me! Stripers on New Hogan! (I should know better than to try again.) Kokanee and trout on New Melones! Big trout at Camanche Reservoir! It’s time to mount the downriggers for the coming trips, and to put some hours on the new kicker motor.
See the New C-Dory Projects page: https://fishwisher.wordpress.com/2010/12/17/the-new-c-dory-projects/

Stay tuned…



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishing Sturgeon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

