It’s June – And Time to Fish New Melones for Kokanee!

Kokanee on New Melones

June 14, 15, 2011

My three kokanee lie in state in the fish box. The little beauties measured 13″, 14″ and 15″.

I’ve been on the road aboard the motorhome this past couple of weeks, and my fishing has taken a break. But now that I’m back, and the wind is (and will be) whistling over the Delta for the entire summer, it’s time to chase those beautiful kokes at New Melones Lake.

Taking in the beauty of New Melones just after anchoring for the night. Next I’d toss over a couple of lines and wait for a trout bite that never happened.

Moonrise at dusk, rising just above the hilltops. What a beautiful sight!

It was a pleasure to see the lake so full; just 24 feet from the top! My plan was to launch in the late afternoon, troll for kokanee in the evening for the late bite, then anchor a bit before sundown and try for some trout with an underwater light. I managed three nice kokes during the evening, and lost a fourth one at the boat. The fishing in the evening was a complete bust, as it was my one visit last year, but even so, there’s nothing quite so peaceful as being at anchor as dusk settles into darkness on that gorgeous lake.

I was trolling again before sunrise, but things went poorly that morning. I just couldn’t make my new Tohatsu keep below 2 MPH, which is necessary for trolling kokanee. It would sputter and die. I am going to change the prop to slow it down to a slower speed. And the weeds! I’ve never seen more weeds on New Melones than that morning! The depth finder would read wild numbers – perhaps 404′ one moment, then 35′ the next. I believe the weeds may have been the reason, but I’m still researching that one. I hope the next trip will prove the depth finder is Ok. I gave up after about a half hour of the morning troll, recognizing that problems made the effort hopeless. I reeled in, stowed the tackle and headed for the dock.  I was home before 9:00 a.m.

New Melones Lake as the morning sky lightens. And before long, I was heading home.

I thoroughly  enjoyed my trip, but I’ve just got to get that little Tohatsu slowed down, and not finding anything wrong with the depth finder, I will hope that next trip it will work properly without the weeds.

Life is good.



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Kokanee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

