First Fishing Trip in over Three Months

A Pleasant Try, But no Fish

…that’s why they call me FishWisher!

February 28 – March 1, 2013

Day 1, Thursday:

It seemed right from the start that this trip was not meant to be. As I drove to my beloved California Delta for the first fishing trip since November, I passed a flashing sign that advised Highway 12, the highway to the Delta, was closed due to “emergency repairs”. Dang!

I drove the extra miles north on I-5, and doubled back through Walnut Grove to reach Brannan Island Park where I launched the boat. En route to Brannan, I got lost, wound up on the wrong side of the river, and had to turn around in a farmer’s field to go back on the narrow levee road.

SAMSUNG

Here is the rig on the farm road after turning around.

SAMSUNG

Finally heading back the right direction. There was no way to turn around my truck and boat on the narrow levee road.

My intent was to head down river to Suisun Bay for the night, but I could see by the rising steam from a big power plant downriver that the wind was blowing – in spite of the good wind reports I’d been reading. So I contented myself with fishing the local area.

2013-2-28e barge at Decker

While fishing Decker Island, this barge was pushed up to the dock for all the dirt that the state is removing from the island. Either that, or someone is stealing the island one barge full of dirt at a time!

I spent 8½ hours at Decker Island, but could attract no attention from the sturgeon. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the time on the river, knowing that at any moment the tick-tick-tick of the reel could announce a big ol’ sturgeon was paying a visit. I gave up on that location about  1800 and headed up the Old Sac to the Isleton Bridge. That narrower portion of the river is pretty well protected from the wind by the levees. I anchored for the night on a very peaceful, calm river.

2013-2-28f anchored near Isl Br at dusk

My anchorage below the scenic Isleton Bridge. The night was peaceful, calm and safe. But still no fish!

SAMSUNG

Morning at Lite 36A where I continued my quest for the year’s first sturgeon.  

Day 2, Friday:

Upon awakening on Day 2, I began fishing again while at the Isleton Bridge anchorage. I completed my morning chores, and as soon as the sun began to rise, fog began to form. I quickly reeled in, raised anchor and motored down to Light 36A at the mouth of the Old Sacramento River. I hoped that the fog would not be dense on the main channel, and while there, the wisps that did form were soon chased away by the rays of the rising sun.

I continued to try for a big ol’ sturgeon ’til about noon, then realized that this trip was to be only a boat ride and a pleasant night on the river. I reeled in and headed downriver to the Brannan Island ramps.

I was pleased that I found the fishing to be as much pleasure as it always has been for me. In my old age (my 70th year) I find that I am becoming as barn sour as an old nag. I love my recliner, my TV and my cozy home just a bit too much nowadays – especially during the cold days of winter. It was good to finally hook up the boat and go fishing – and I’m looking forward to my next trip!

Incidentally, I tried the new vented heater this trip:

2013-2-28h new heater's glow

The new heater glows in the darkness of the night on the river. For a change, there was no condensation in the boat; the cabin was dry as toast. And the CO alarm did not sound! When I awoke in the morning, it was 50° outside and 64° inside the cabin. I think the heat issue is now resolved with the new heater. Scroll down near the bottom of my boat projects page to read about the installation:  https://fishwisher.wordpress.com/2010/12/17/the-new-c-dory-projects/



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
Image | This entry was posted in Fishing Humble Files, Fishing Overnight on the Water, Fishing Sturgeon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

