Another Sturgeon Adventure – Without the Sturgeon!

Another Try… Another Skunk!

March 12-13, 2013

2013-3-12b  flat calm SuisunSuisun Bay on a rare, calm day – just what I was waiting for!

This adventure also began with a bad omen. I stopped at my usual bait shop for good, fat eel from the freezer, but it was not to be. Two anorexic eels, both skinny and freezer burned, were left. But I had to have some eel, so I took the least anorexic of the two. It was leathery and pretty useless, but it was an eel.

I launched at Brannan Island State Park near Rio Vista, Kalifornistan on the Sacramento River. I was pleased to see the steam from plants downriver rising upwards; the wind was light. Two weeks ago the wind was blowing on the bay, and I fished local waters – maybe this could be the week I catch the season’s first sturgeon!

When I reached Suisun Bay, about 45 minutes after leaving Brannan Island, I fired up the little Tohatsu kicker motor. I’ve never trolled for stripers across Suisun Bay, and don’t know if anyone does, but what could it hurt? I dug out a couple of broken back Rebel lures, attached tails to them and chugged across the bay. I was pleased that the autopilot worked fine at 4 MPH – something it won’t do when trolling slower  such as for kokanee at 1 MPH or so.

2013-3-12d trolling across Suisun

Chugging across Suisun Bay, trolling for stripers. I’ve never seen anyone do this, but what could it hurt? It didn’t help the fish count, but it was fun!

I arrived at my honey hole off Ryer Island and was fishing before 1400. I was full of good cheer and optimism at the start. I don’t know why!

I offered eel and, for another try at something new and different, squid. The squid didn’t attract even the interest of the usual nippers who try to steal bait. In time I was offering eel on both rods. I tried clear up ’til 2100 when I decided to reel in. I weighed anchor and motored to the back side of Freeman Island for the night so I could sleep without the constant rocking of the small waves that roll across Suisun Bay – even with the slightest breeze.

2013-3-12h sunset on SuisunSunset on Suisun Bay is always a pleasant experience. The bit of chop indicates the beginning of a breeze that blew all night long.

I slept well considering I had to get up twice during the night as the boat dragged anchor. I guess the breeze and current moving together was a bit much. I dropped more rode and that did the trick. It sounded like the anchor was sliding on a clam bed.

Day 2:

I was back at the honey hole a bit after 0700, still trying for that elusive sturgy. I fished an outgoing current ’til almost 1100 when it dawned on me – I was not going to catch a sturgeon this trip. Again.

2013-3-12f life is good on SuisunLife is good – even when the fish aren’t biting. I can’t imagine anyone complaining about no fish when this is how it’s done. But I complain anyway! 

I reeled in the lines, stowed the stuff that accumulates in the cockpit while fishing, and weighed anchor. It was another beautiful cruise upriver to Brannan Park and the ramp. On calm days, the cruise from Suisun to Brannan Island, and vice-versa, is a pleasant one. I just turn on the autopilot and enjoy the ride!

2013-3-13f Delta cormorants sunningCormorants rest and enjoy the beautiful day, too. These funny critters really know how to fish; they dive down and do it the fun way!

I arrived at Brannan Islands ramps about an hour after leaving my honey hole on Suisun Bay. Brannan’s ramps are among the very best on the Delta. There are 10  launching lanes and I usually have most of them all to myself.

2013-3-13g FishWisher after the adventureHere FishWisher the boat waits at the dock as I walked to the pickup to load her onto her trailer and head for home. It was another wonderful Delta adventure – even with the skunk along for the ride!



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies (oops, now 80s!), it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Fishing Humble Files, Fishing Overnight on the Water, Fishing Sturgeon. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Sturgeon Adventure – Without the Sturgeon!

  1. Anonymous says:

    From Lake Tahoe…. Great writing! Cheers to fishing and cheap beer;)
    Jet-Lagged

  2. FishWisher says:

    Thanks, Jet-Lagged. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. Yep, it’s hard to beat fishing and cheap beer!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’ve just discovered your writings and have spent quite a bit of time enjoying your fishing adventures. Am looking forward to reading of your next one.

  4. FishWisher says:

    Thanks, Anonymous. I’m ashamed to say I haven’t been out all summer. Maybe I’m getting too old for the effort it takes to troll the lakes in the hot summertime. I may get up to a lake yet this summer when it cools a bit. I’m surely looking forward to getting back on the Delta for salmon and sturgeon this fall.

    Thanks for the visit – I always enjoy notes from those who enjoy my humble site.

    -Dale

Leave a comment