Quick Visit to Gridley Nov. 2014

A visit to my twin Sis and hubby John in Gridley…

Wednesday, November 05, 2014

2014-11-5b North on SR99E is rice country and skeeters too
The drive to Gridley was through rice country – and here sits a rice field harvested and covered with water to decay the old rice plants. It makes for mosquito heaven!

Day 1: Home to John and Gale’s in Gridley via SR99, I-5, SR 99E = 118 miles

It had been almost a year since our last trip to Gridley to visit my twin Sis, Gale, and her husband John. With a couple of phone calls between the girls, we set up a trip and this was the day. We’d stay only one night, and return home on Thursday. Our time with them is usually spent at home as none of us  care much for dining out, and our old bones like the comfort of their lovely home.
2014-11-5d nearing Gale's on Block Rd, a back country road
A back country road as we neared Gale and John’s place. I’d love to live in such an area – but not in Kalifornistan!

We arrived a bit after noon, and all the action was in the kitchen where Gale and John spent way too much time whipping up lunch of grilled cheese and tomato soup. I heckled ‘em as they dawdled, and did my best to get Gale to settle down and eat a hot meal. Lunch was followed by dessert that was like a chocolate loaf of bread similar to zucchini bread. It was very good and, as usual, I had too much.

My afternoon was spent taking photos, napping and such. Around 1630 John advised me that we’d be picking up something from town to bring home for dinner. I had strongly lobbied for doing so after their effort to whip up lunch. By around 1800 we were having Taco Bell around the dining room table, and it was fast and fairly good. Life is too short to spend so much of it in the kitchen!
2014-11-6b the old folks
The Old Folks gather for a photo in the living room. (L-R Gale, John, Lavonne, Dale) It was a restful visit – just as we oldsters like.

2014-11-5L Gridley sunset
Sunset in Gridley. It was a beautiful evening from inside – the mosquitoes ruled the outdoors!

We enjoyed the evening together, and by 2100 we had returned to the coach for the night. We did our usual Internet browsing on the laptop and I watched more of my series America’s Time on the TV. We hit the sack around 2200.
==================================

Thursday, Day2 Returned home the same way = 118 miles

Around 0730 we returned to the house to continue our visit with Gale and John. I had more of the dessert Gale and John made the day before, Lavonne had toast, and we called it breakfast. We visited ‘til around 1000, including Gale and I trying to sing a few old fashioned choruses a cappella – which she enjoyed. We used to sing together quite a lot when they had a piano, and they’re just going to have to get another one for our singing. A cappella doesn’t work so well for us anymore! Still, Gale harmonized nicely as I sang lead. John and Lavonne tolerated us.
2014-11-5h outback horses
The horses behind the house on their pasture which they rent to a neighbor. 

It was around 0940 that we pulled out of their driveway and headed for home. We pulled into our little gated community well before noon. We unloaded our things, I dumped the tanks and parked the coach.
2014-11-6c Sacto skyline en route home
Our drive home included I-5 through Sacramento.

Our visit was very pleasant and is something we should do more often. And as always, I thoroughly enjoyed the drive.
=================================

About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies, it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Travel Gale & John. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

