Christmas 2022

Christmas 2022 at Craig’s Castle

Day 1, Sunday, December 25, to Craig’s for our Family Christmas

Christmas comes but once a year, so we gather with those we love to celebrate the big day. We’d spend the big day with family, and the day following, too, which would be my 79th birthday. Or, put another way, I’d commence my 80th year! I never anticipated such a ripe old age, but nevertheless, here I am and I am grateful!

Stowing the stuff aboard Big Blue for our joyous Christmas with family.

We loaded up Big Blue on Christmas morning for the short drive to Craig’s Castle in Stockton. All family gatherings take place at Craig’s lovely home, it seems. Craig’s Castle is large and very “homey” – and perfect for family gatherings. 

My cute lil’ trail buddy settled in for the short ride to Craig’s in Stockton for our family Christmas gathering.

The drive was only about 20 miles, and the fog was not nearly as bad as the roadway signs suggested. We drove by four or five such advisories in just 20 miles or so.

Big Blue at Craig’s Castle in Stockton. (File photo)

We arrived at Craig’s about 1330 hours. Some family members were busy putting Christmas dinner together, and others joined in as time for the big Christmas bash approached.

Click on any image to enlarge. Click the ⓘ to enlarge, then click photo again for full size:

There were several volunteers helping Craig and Laura prepare the big meal. I couldn’t possibly recall all the different dishes that were provided, but there was ham, turkey, salmon, tri-tip, potatoes, gravy, baked beans, string beans, biscuits and rolls, a delicious mushroom appetizer, and more. It was a feast fit for the Christmas holiday.

The clan, fat and happy after our delicious Christmas dinner. From left, our gracious host Craig, Erin, our gracious hostess Laura, Dale, Lavonne, Ashley, Jeremy, Darren, Alexandra, James, Michael, Julia, and Breanne. (Click on photo to enlarge, click again for even larger.)

After dinner, the gift opening began, and there were so many gifts that it took a couple hours or more. Two of the happiest recipients were Darren and Ashley’s two children, Jeremy and Alexandra. Lavonne and I gave them each a snow sled, as suggested by their momma, and the kids just beamed when they opened those gifts.

Jeremy and Alexandra with their two sleds. Click to enlarge:

I headed to the coach not long after the gifting, and spent the rest of the evening online, writing of this family Christmas and perusing a few of my favored sites. Lavonne joined me after the usual Bingo session with the family.

We enjoyed a quiet and comfortable night aboard Big Blue, and were pleased to have enjoyed a lovely Christmas with our family.


Day 2, Monday, December 26, and I commence my 80th year

It was 79 years ago this day, in fortress San Francisco as WWII raged around the world, that a scrawny, underweight baby was born into this war-torn world. I was the second born of twins, completely unexpected and unannounced – not even the doctor knew that our mother was carrying two of us.

My twin sis, Gale on the left, and me on the right. I was the bald one. Gale passed away back in January of 2020, and we miss her so very much.

My mother and sister left the hospital for home days before I was released, as I was just too small to go home. Tiny babies such as I were put into an incubator until reaching a minimum of five pounds before leaving the hospital. I am pleased to report that I have more than made up for my underweight condition at birth!

This 79th birthday means that I have completed 79 years and am now commencing my 80th year. Who’d have guessed?! 

To celebrate my old age, my dear wife Lavonne ordered a feast of Chinese food from Dave Wong’s restaurant in Stockton. Craig volunteered to pick up the order.

Michael, Julia, Carly, Nick, Laura, Craig, Lavonne, and me at the dinner table.

The family celebrated old age with me as we enjoyed the Chinese delicacies from Dave Wong’s along with leftovers from our big Christmas dinner. My dear Lavonne also ordered a specially made bundt cake once again for my birthday.

I was especially blessed this year in that the family did NOT sing ♪ ♫ Happy ♫ Birthday ♪ ♪ to me. I was spared the torture of their singing talent this year! 

Much thanks to Laura, Craig, and all who helped for all the hard work that went into our Christmas, and to my loving wife, Lavonne, for my birthday celebration this year.

The silly Birthday Boy with the lovely instigator of this phunny photo – yet another indignity of old age!

After all the eating and good wishes, I headed back to the coach where Lavonne joined me later in the evening. We were blessed with a wonderful, very wet rain storm that began about dinnertime, and lasted all night long and ’til afternoon of the 27th. With our incessant droughts, the rain was a wonderful Christmas blessing.


Day 3, Tuesday, December 27, to home from Craig’s in Stockton: 38 miles total trip

I woke from time to time during the night and heard the lovely sound of the rain on Big Blue’s roof – a comforting and welcome sound any time. A real rain storm, as we had overnight and ’til late afternoon, was a very welcome gift.

There was no visiting with family that last morning because Craig left to manage his business, and we wanted to just head home. We did chat briefly with Laura, Michael, and Julia just before we pulled out of the driveway.

The drive home was very wet and wind-blown. Big Blue, with the aerodynamics of a brick, is knocked around a bit in a strong wind, but nothing like lighter RVs get blown about. We arrived home mid morning, and I set about unloading all the stuff from the coach back to the house. It rained the entire time, but at least my walks to and from the house were very short ones.

Another Christmas and birthday celebration is done and behind us. I am looking forward to a trip into Texas in January for my annual Search for Sunshine. I am so very overdue for some bummin’ around! Stay tuned.


Other visits to Craig’s, such as Thanksgiving, are recorded here, but since those visits were posted onto an already existing post, notices did not go out to those readers who follow my blog. So, please have a look at those visits if you are so inclined. Thanks, and my wishes for a Happy New Year to all!



About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies (oops, now 80s!), it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Travel: Craig's Castle. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas 2022

  1. Susan T says:

    Nice family, all-y’all done good!

  2. FishWisher says:

    Hi, Susan –

    Thanks for your visit. Yep – family is everything, especially at Christmas time! I am so blessed to be married into Lavonne’s family as they are just the best people one could hope to call family. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas, too.

    – Dale

Leave a comment