Denver or Bust – and Beyond! June 2023

An Overdue Visit to the Kids in Denver!

Day 1, Monday, June 12, Home to Fernley, NV via CA99, I-80: 220 miles

It had been exactly one year, to the day, since we headed to Allen and Nancy’s home in Denver. It was June 12, 2022, to be precise. And this visit was long overdue!

I had a few projects to complete on Big Blue before the adventure, and for several days I worked my very elderly self as many hours each day as was possible – to again be precise, that would be two to three hours. My old bones require that limit as I am pretty well whipped within that time.

One project was to fulfill a promise to myself to buy a pressure washer, and retire the brush with which I’d been washing our various motorhomes over the years.Wheeeee! Instead of a couple hours each day for three days to hand wash the coach with a bucket and brush, I washed the entire coach in just a couple of hours – and that included the roof! Good grief – I should have bought that little Ryobi pressure washer years ago!

Another pressing project was replacing the big ol’ starting batteries – with the second set I’ve installed since we bought Big Blue nearly five years ago. I really should get a trickle battery charger; I think they’d last longer.

Those monster batteries, and there are two of them necessary to fire up the big Caterpillar engine, weigh over 50 pounds each – waaay more than I care to lift! But, I managed to get them installed.

And, of course there was housecleaning to tend to, and we had the carpets cleaned for this trip, too. On the day we loaded the coach and headed east toward Denver, Big Blue was lookin’ good!

We pulled away from our home about 20 minutes before noon, and headed north on CA99. We would merge onto I-80 in Sacramento and follow it all the way to Rawlins, Wyoming.

Click to enlarge the photos and to read the captions:

We stopped at a rest area along I-80 for lunch as we climbed toward Donner Summit. Lavonne made a delicious meatloaf sandwich for me, while she settled for a cheese sandwich. After lunch, we continued east on I-80.

Having cleaned the coach so well with my new pressure washer, I suppose I should have expected to drive through downpouring rain just to learn a bit of humility – and we sure did get hit with downpours.

Yep, it started as we approached Donner Summit at 7200 feet, and rained on and off ’til Reno. At one point we drove through a real cloudburst of hail, heavy enough to stick to the roadway a bit.

I was surprised upon reaching the Walmart in Fernley, that the coach looked pretty clean considering the storms we drove through. I suppose it had been raining enough lately that the highways were relatively clean, and the usual slop and dirt had been washed away.

More to click!

Once past Reno, we had only about 30 miles or so to Fernley, Nevada, our destination for Day 1. We pulled into the local Walmart store a few minutes before 1700 hours. It was good to be home for the night!

Day 1, driving I-80 in Kalifornistan, especially the climb to Donner Summit would be, by far, the worst portion of our entire drive. That would also include my drive north from Denver into Nebraska, the Dakotas, Montana, etc., ’til I was back on I-80 in Kalifornistan.

Big Blue at home for the night at the Fernley, Nevada Walmart.

Once settled in for the night we enjoyed the evening aboard the coach. I made a quick trip into the store for a few items we needed. We each whipped up our own quick dinners – for Lavonne it was a peanut butter (one of the reasons I went shopping) sandwich, and I zapped a frozen dinner. Aboard Big Blue, we like to keep meals quick and simple.

We spent a comfortable evening aboard. I spent most of my time editing photos and writing this blog. Lavonne spent time on her tablet playing various word games. The evening was mild, and we didn’t get any thunderstorms that were possible, and I was disappointed. I love those flashy, booming shows by Mother Nature.

The night was quiet and mild, and we slept very well. I was a happy camper to be back on the road, and my dear Lavonne was tolerant.


Day 2, Tuesday, June 13, Fernley, NV to Elko, NV via I-80: 250 miles

I was up and about at 0530. My Trail Buddy was already up and had enjoyed her first coffee of the day. We took our sweet time online to begin our day. These days, we consider driving something a bit over 200 miles to be plenty. We have considerably more time than energy, so we take it very easy. There was a time we did at least 400 miles a day, but those days, especially when my dear Lavonne is aboard with me, are no more.

It was 0745 when we pulled out of the Fernley, Nevada Walmart and continued east. It was a rainy day, and we drove in rain or under threatening skies the entire day. Personally, while I very much dislike snow and wind, I usually enjoy a rainy day’s drive.

Click for photos of the day’s drive and the captions:

We drove to Lovelock, Nevada to fuel up and to enjoy a Mickey D’s, or McDonald’s, breakfast. We don’t eat such fare at home, but only on occasion when we travel. Well…! It was a rude awakening to see that a simple biscuit with just two small slices of bacon and a bit of cheese was $5.59! My McGriddle was $5.89! Yikes. After breakfast, we fueled up at a nearby station in Lovelock for $3.86 per, and also filled the propane tank which was near empty.

For a mini lunch, I pulled over at an offramp and we made ourselves bread with peanut butter and jelly, and ate them as we continued east. Peanut butter is a treat that we allow ourselves only on our trips, and we consider it a real treat.

We pulled into the Walmart at Elko, Nevada sometime around 1400 hours. The rain was still falling, and we stayed put in the coach all afternoon – even after the rain stopped.

Big Blue parked for the afternoon and night at Elko’s Walmart. We enjoyed the rainy day – something we almost never see this time of year at home.

We also, er…, I also enjoyed the very rainy night as on occasion I’d hear it beating down on the roof of the coach. Lavonne… not so much. She didn’t sleep too well due to the noise. It was, perhaps, as rainy a night as we’ve ever experienced aboard Big Blue.

Day 3, Wednesday, June 14, Elko, NV to Salt Lake City, UT via I-80: 235 miles

Morning came, and the rain had finally stopped. We began our day as usual, at the little dinette table and online with our computer and tablet. While we were in no hurry to head to Salt Lake City, Lavonne did have a date that evening with our granddaughter, Erica, who lives in SLC. Their get-togethers are rarely missed when we drive through SLC.

We pulled out of Elko at 0720 and continued east on I-80 toward Salt Lake City. It was a perfect, mild day for the drive, and also very scenic, I think, as we drove through the Nevada deserts. The deserts were quite green, something we’ve rarely seen, due to what must have been an unusually wet winter.

Another excellent start to our day as we pretty much had all of I-80 to ourselves. It was a splendid drive.

We stopped at Wells, Nevada, about 50 miles into our drive, where I walked into a grocery store for a couple pastries for breakfast. We then drove a few more miles east before we pulled off the highway and enjoyed our sugary breakfast. Occasionally, we just gotta have some sweets!

Our drive was very rural and scenic, just as I like. Eventually the desert views dropped away as we topped a rise very near the state line where Nevada meets Utah at West Wendover, Nevada and Wendover, Utah. I suppose one might call them sister cities, separated by the state line.

Click for larger photos and the captions:

Once in Utah, we we were on the seemingly endless salt flats, flats being the key word as the drive to SLC is about 120 miles, and perhaps the first half of the drive, and more, is made up of the salt flats.

The day remained very mild, and we didn’t need the air conditioner at all – nor had we needed it during the entire trip so far. Crossing Nevada and Utah on I-80 in June can be a very hot and sweltering drive – but not that time!

We arrived at the Parley’s Way Walmart at the eastern edge of SLC at 1330 hours. When continuing east the following morning, we would immediately climb to Utah’s highest point along I-80 at Parley’s Summit, near Park City, Utah.

Jacks down for the night at the Parley’s Way Walmart in SLC.

Once parked at the Walmart lot, Lavonne and I spent a relaxing afternoon aboard the coach. It was somewhere near 1800 hours when Erica arrived and joined us for a lovely visit aboard with her sweet lil’ pooch, Roxy. After a warm visit, they left for their dinner date.

I enjoyed a very laid-back evening while the gals were gone to dinner. I fell off my diet badly when I walked into the store and bought a box of those delicious, very fattening, Crunch ‘n Munch, very similar to Cracker Jacks but even better. I also bought a six-pack of Stella Artois beer. I really enjoyed that Crunch ‘n Munch along with three small beers. And I’d better stay on my diet the rest of this trip!

CRUNCH 'N MUNCH Buttery Toffee Popcorn with Peanuts, 6 oz.    Stella Artois Belgian Beer - 6pk/11.2 fl oz Bottles     (Chilled) Freshness Guaranteed Rotisserie Chicken, Traditional, Cooked, Ready to Serve, 36 oz

While in the store, I bought a rotisserie chicken for dinner. I love those things too much, and for dinner I scarfed down both legs, both thighs, and both wings. And why do I now feel as though I just confessed a sin?! But it made for a very delicious, although excessive, meal.

When the gals returned, we visited for an hour and more in the coach. We really enjoyed our visit with Erica, and catching up with each other’s goings-on.

After our visit, Lavonne and I headed to bed. It had been a grand day aboard Big Blue.


Day 4, Thursday, June 15, SLC, UT to Laramie, WY via I-80: 385 miles

It was a rainy night in Salt Lake City, and we enjoyed the soft patter of the rain drops on the roof of the coach, unlike the deluge of water the night before.

We were up and about around 0600 hours, and worked through our usual morning chores. We wanted to hit the road early because we would, if the driver felt alert enough later in the day, drive 385 miles to Laramie, Wyoming. Otherwise, we’d spend the night at Rawlins, Wyoming, about 100 miles less driving. We wanted to drive fewer miles the following morning so as to arrive at our destination earlier in the day to avoid Denver’s Friday afternoon traffic.

Wyoming is wide open and very, very empty. However, the pronghorn antelope are there in the hundreds of thousands. In reality, pronghorn antelope are not antelopes, but more closely related to the giraffe. The pronghorn is the fastest land animal in the western hemisphere, capable of running up to 55 MPH. (Read more on Wikipedia.)

Can you count at least three pronghorn in this photo?
(Click to enlarge.)

The photo below, cropped from the above photo, shows a close up of two of the pronghorn; one is on the far left of the photo near the fence, and the other on the far right:
(Click to enlarge.)

The day’s drive was very scenic as we always enjoy driving through beautiful Utah and wide-open Wyoming. The drive was also quite demanding due to the rain – lots and lots of  rain that sometimes came down in torrents. This whole trip, from Day 1 beginning near Donner Summit through this day, Day 4, we have had rain perhaps 40% of the drive. We’ve had enough rain for one trip!

This photo could represent the day’s drive pretty accurately. We had rain off and on all day long. At times it came down so heavily that visibility was occasionally reduced.

But in spite of the rain, there were many scenic portions of our drive. We love the climb up Parley’s Canyon as we leave Salt Lake City. We think the Coleville area, beyond Park City, is the prettiest portion of the entire drive to Colorado.

Click to enlarge the photos and to read the captions:

By the time we neared Rawlins, where we might have spent the night, I was bushed. The best remedy for the sleepies, in my opinion, is a McFlurry followed by a cup of McDonald’s splendid coffee.

When we reached Rawlins, I pulled into their McDonald’s and walked through a very heavy downpour to get my remedy. Then I walked through the very heavy downpour back to the coach. I had an umbrella, but my pantlegs were soaked to the skin by the time I was back aboard the coach.

Sure enough, the Mickey D’s remedy did the job and I was alert for the 100 miles to Laramie. And, sure enough, much of that final leg of the day’s drive was through heavy rain.

We arrived at Laramie’s Walmart at 1730 hours during a downpour. It was good to be “home” after the day’s long, wet drive. Once settled in, we stayed put all evening. We needed a few things from the store, but they could wait ’til morning.

We whipped up our dinners, then spent a goodly portion of the evening, as usual, online at the dinette table. Lavonne played word games and caught up on the news. I edited photos and updated this blog, as usual.

Big Blue, nearly drowned during the day’s sloppy, wet drive, finally at rest for the night at Laramie, Wyoming’s Walmart.


Day 5, Friday, June 16, Laramie, WY to Denver, CO via I-80, I-25: 160 miles

Nothing much changed overnight, certainly not the weather; we heard a gentle rain on the roof quite often. If we were to have more rain,  I’d prefer a gentle rain over the deluge of water as we’d seen the prior days. The forecast for Denver was for thunderstorms, and I would enjoy such weather more if I didn’t have to drive through it for hours on end.

We had a good evening and night in Laramie. We rested well, and appreciated the comforts aboard the coach.

We left Laramie at 0830 hours and continued east on I-80. Immediately upon merging onto I-80, we began the climb up to Sherman Pass. 

I-80 makes for a long pull up to the pass elevation of 8,640 feet, the highest point of the entire highway.

Once over the pass, we continued on to Cheyenne, Wyoming where we turned south on I-25 which took us to Denver’s Cherry Creek State Park. The park is actually in Aurora, Colorado, but we always speak of it as being in Denver.

Click!

We arrived at the park around 1300 hours, but since I forgot to record the arrival time in my log book, I’m not so sure. I waited aboard the coach as Lavonne walked into the park office to sign us in. We had a reservation, naturally, as the park’s RV park is very popular.

When Lavonne returned to the coach, we idled over to our “loop” in the RV park known as the Gold Rush Loop, and settled into our space.

Allen and Nancy soon arrived with our traditional Chick-fil-A lunch. Of course it was raining, so we all sat around our little dinette and dug into the chicken sandwiches and fries. It was great to visit with them again, and to catch up with each other’s happenings.

Lavonne, as usual, went home with Allen and Nancy, and I stayed put in the coach. For convenience, I guess, we’ve done that when visiting Allen and Nancy ever since they purchased their present home which is in a  snooty HOA that doesn’t allow RVs in their neighborhood. Lavonne enjoys the comforts of Allen and Nancy’s very lovely home, but I prefer to stay in the coach. Yes… it is kind of a strange situation, but it seems to work for everyone.

Big Blue settled in at Cherry Creek State Park for the weekend. Check out that wide open space with no close neighbors. I loved it!
(You may note that Big Blue seems raised in the front, and she is. The campsite is on a bit of a downhill slope, so when I dropped the jacks to level her for our stay, which she does automatically, the front of the coach settled higher than the rear.)


Day 6, Saturday, June 17, at rest in Denver, Colorado

I spent a very quiet and restful night aboard Big Blue in the RV park. It is a very well run park, and is very quiet. The RV spaces are as far apart as any RV park I’ve seen, which, in my book, makes for good neighbors.

Allen would pick me up that Saturday morning and we’d drive back to their home for the day’s visit. He’d then have to drive me back the eight miles or so to the coach for the night. He’d have to repeat the process on Sunday. I have always considered all his driving to be fair pay-back for having sold their beautiful home in a more reasonable HOA where trailer trash was allowed to park in the neighborhood!

I spent late morning and all afternoon with my lovely Lavonne, and our son, Allen and wife Nancy. We ate a delicious lunch from the local Five Guys hamburger joint, and my burger was perhaps the best I’ve ever eaten.

We spent several hours playing the very addictive table game, Rummikub.

Around 0630 Allen drove me back to the coach where I always want to spend the night. I would visit again the next day, Sunday.


Day 7, Sunday, June 18, relaxing in Denver, Colorado

I slept well, as usual, and it was a pleasure to awaken in the quiet, peaceful park that is Cherry Creek. Due to a very wet year, the acres and acres of open land were as green as could be.

Once up and around and having an oatmeal breakfast, I dawdled around the coach ’til Allen picked me up. Lavonne and I would enjoy another day of visiting Allen and Nancy. We were likely to be humbled, again, at the game of Rummikub. Even so, it was still a fun and challenging game.

Once at the kids home, I greeted my dear Wifey with a warm hug and kiss. She has the sweetest disposition, similar to my late twin sister, and it’s always a pleasure to greet her.

Allen and Nancy were busy much of the morning getting things ready for lunch and dinner and other projects they have to deal with. We did have time to be humbled again at the Rummikub table, but the game is such fun that even losing is a fun time.

I left my camera and phone in the coach, so I didn’t take any photos of the day’s pleasures. Dang!

Lunch was unusually good hot dogs, grilled and prepared by Allen and Nancy. I don’t know what brand weiners were used, but they were really delicious, no doubt due mostly to Allen’s grilling.

Nancy’s mother, Norma, lives nearby and arrived to visit, and we were pleased to see her both days of our visit. She joined us for dinner, too, and made our visiting a bit more enjoyable.

Chicken was served for dinner, grilled and blackened to my liking by Allen, and basted and marinated by Nancy. The thighs they grill are absolutely divine. Ribs were smoked nearly all day in their Traeger smoker, and were also served. They were very tasty.

After dinner we visited a while, but it was soon time for me to gather my things and head back to the coach. I bid my dear Lavonne good-night, and Nancy drove me home. It had been a lovely visit, and I was looking forward to the continuing adventure.

Back at the coach, my evening unfolded as usual. It was warm for a change, and I actually ran the air conditioners for a little while. I headed to bed a few minutes after midnight and slept very well.


Day 8, Monday, June 19, Cherry Creek State Park, CO to Scottsbluff, NE via I-225, I-70, CO E-470, I-76, CO52, NE71: 207 miles

It was a busy morning as I prepared Big Blue for my continuing adventure. First thing after the usual morning chores was to dump the holding tanks and fill the fresh water tank.

Click:

I wasn’t in a big hurry to leave, as I had only about 210 miles to drive. I planned to drive to Scottsbluff, Nebraska as I began my wandering route home. Then, probably on to South Dakota, Montana, Idaho, Nevada and on home to Kalifornistan. I figured I’d be home on Day 14. Maybe.

I pulled out of the Cherry Creek RV Park a few minutes after 1000 hours, and headed northeast toward Ft. Morgan, Colorado on I-76. The day was perfect for the drive, with lots of sunshine and a very appreciated tail wind.

A rare four lane portion of CO71. Most of the drive was along two lane roads. If only Kalifornistan has such light traffic!

I stopped along highway CO71 for lunch. It took some doing to find an area with a large enough shoulder to park safely. Honestly, I drove mile after mile throughout the day along roadways that had absolutely no place to park. It would have been downright deadly if some soul had to park due to a breakdown along much of my drive. There was nowhere to park but on the highway.

The day’s drive was very pleasant for a frustrated meant-to-be farmer such as myself. When I’m cruising back country roads through farm land, I feel as though I belong there, and I feel a deep sense of contentment.

More to click:

I was pleased to pull into Scottsbluff, Nebraska’s Walmart store for the night. The day had turned quite warm, and I ran the dash air conditioner most of the time I drove. Once parked for the night, I ran the house air conditioner for hours and hours – which also required the generator to run.

For dinner, I zapped a frozen dinner, the new (to me) Great Value Pulled Pork and Sweet Corn Cake. Yum! I just can’t seem to get enough of that stuff! It’s about the only frozen dinner I still eat as I prefer to prepare healthier fare when possible.

Big Blue with jacks down for the night at Scottsbluff, Nebraska’s Walmart. The afternoon was very warm, and I ran the roof air conditioner for about six hours to stay comfortable.

Eventually the evening cooled down nicely and was very pleasant. I spent the evening as usual. After dinner and updating this blog, I watched YouTube ’til I headed to bed at midnight.


Day 9, Tuesday, June 20, Scottsbluff, NE to Rock Springs, WY via NE71, I-80: 368 miles

The day began with an old fridge issue aboard the coach flaring up again. To make a long story short, the fridge quit working and I couldn’t get it going again, as I have been able to in the past. For the rest of the trip, I’d have only a really big icebox! I tried for about an hour to get the fridge working, but finally realized I needed a part I won’t be able to get until I was back home. I would get by with plenty of ice.

But the fridge issue did change my travel plans. I didn’t want to deal with the broken fridge as I bummed around the country, so I decided to head for home. I regretted having driven a whole day in the wrong direction, but so it was. I headed for home at 0845, retracing the same route I drove the prior day.

After morning chores, I set up Big Blue for the day’s drive, and headed south and west for Rock Springs, Wyoming, about 370 miles away. Perhaps it was best to head for home as I don’t recall a trip when I missed my dear Lavonne more.

Click to enlarge and read captions:

The drive was beautiful as I drove through the Nebraska countryside. Skies were blue, traffic was light, and it was the perfect morning to cruise along aboard Big Blue. However, when I headed west on I-80 in Wyoming I dealt with the endless Wyoming wind. Usually it was a cross wind, but sometimes a headwind and all too rarely a tail wind.

I stopped for breakfast and lunch aboard the coach. It’s much easier for me to mind my eating when I’m the cook. I did pretty well both meals as I have got to knock off the overeating which is so easy to do when traveling.

As I continued west through Wyoming, I drove into some cloudy weather. The forecast for Rock Springs was for thunderstorms, and I was not disappointed when I arrived there at 1630 hours. Shortly after parking, I was treated to a booming, wet storm that, while not for long, sure packed a wallop as long as it lasted. I love such displays of Mother Nature. There were a couple more rainy periods during the evening.

More click fun!

I spent the evening editing photos and updating this blog. I also fell off the diet wagon by walking into the store for a pint of cookies and cream ice cream, and just have to do better than that. Geez, that entirely unnecessary pleasure was 620 calories I absolutely didn’t need. I watched YouTube, as I often do, ’til bedtime about midnight.


Day 10, Wednesday, June 21, Rock Springs, WY to Fernley, NV via I-80: 655 miles! (A record long day in 20 years of RVing.)

I was up and around at 0530 hours Mountain Time. It was cool in Rock Spring at 41° and I had to turn on the heaters. It seemed to be cooler generally, and I’m not complaining. Even at home the weather guessers predicted 86° which was pretty mild for the valley.

I got the notion to drive 650 miles to Fernley, Nevada so that I would make it home the next day. I have never driven a RV over 550 miles, but getting home a day earlier was tempting. And driving 650 miles through Nevada would not be too challenging as the highway is generally very good, and the traffic is light the entire drive. I set out for Fernley at 0645 hours, the earliest departure of this entire trip.

Click!

The day was perfect for a long drive across Nevada. It was bright and sunny, and the wind was calm. I felt pretty confident that I could make the 650 mile drive.

But as I approached Elko, Nevada, which should have been my destination, I was getting pretty tired. I decided that the wise choice would be to spend the night there, as we did the first night of the trip. I pulled into the lot and set up for the night. I also went into the store and bought some ice as the ice box was needing a new supply of the stuff.

Back at the coach, I dug out the window cleaning equipment and supplies to wash the very, very dirty monster windshields. It was probably 20 minutes later that I finished and stashed the stuff away.

I made myself comfortable in the coach, and then a new idea came to me; if I continued on I could arrive at Fernley in three hours or so! I was again confident I could drive another 250 miles. So I set up the coach to continue the day’s drive, and set out for Fernley. I would be home the next day!

It was a long slog driving those extra miles. About half way through the drive, I stopped at the Winnemucca, Nevada McDonald’s for dinner. I paid the outrageous price of $5.49 for a delicious, but very small, Fish Filet sandwich. The formerly priced $1 large coffee was a thing of the past, and I had to cough up $1.69 for a medium coffee. And that’s probably my quota of whining for today’s entry! (I just can’t get accustomed to the price of food these days!)

More to click!

I sort of enjoyed my dinner as I continued the drive to Fernley. I thought I’d make it before sundown on this, the longest day of the year, also known as the first day of summer. Sundown was to be about  2030 hours, the same time I arrived, but it seemed pretty dark in Fernley.

I was happy that I made the long drive and arrived safely. Back in my truckin’ days, 650 miles was a good day, but nothing too unusual. Now, however, in my 80th year, I thought it was quite a feat! Even so, it was not a feat that I intended to repeat.

Once settled in at the Fernley, Nevada Walmart, I worked through the evening chores, then began editing photos and writing. It was nearly 2230 hours when I finished. I poured myself a nightcap, then kicked back to watch a bit of YouTube ’til bedtime, which was about midnight. It had been quite a day!


Day 11, Thursday, June 22, Fernley, NV to Home (!) via I-80, CA99: 223 miles

I slept very well that last night of my “adventure” to Nebraska, as well I should have after the driving marathon of the prior day. I was excited about driving home, and rolled out of bed about 0530 hours.

I didn’t want to leave before 0800 so as to avoid the Reno commute traffic. I would fill up with fuel in the area, and hopefully not need to fuel in Kalifornistan before the next trip. While I could buy fuel in the Fernley area for $4 per, at home it was selling for up to a dollar more.

After morning chores, I relaxed a bit at the little dinette and updated this blog. I also perused my usual morning comics and, of course, had to face the daily Wordle challenge:

Tips and Tricks for Solving Wordle Efficiently | by Arnoud ...I solved the day’s puzzle in three tries, so my day was off to a grand start!

Even so, I dreaded the last couple hundred mile drive to home. Donner Summit and the awful I-80 down to Sacramento awaited me, and it’s a tough drive due to the rough road conditions. And every bit as undesirable as the roadway is the awful traffic. But there was no real choice.

I stopped at a gas station and filled up at $4 per. I stopped again near Boom Town, a motel and tourist stop, and bought an omelet, of sorts, that was wrapped and meant to be eaten in hand, like a sandwich. And with that done, I joined the mob heading for Kalifornistan. Ugh.

There were sections of I-80 that were so rutted by the chains required to drive Donner when it’s snowy that the tires wanted to follow the ruts. Of course, they’re in the truck lanes where I generally stay. To avoid them, I drove in the left lanes as much as I could without holding up traffic at my slower speeds. I drove much of the time at 65 or so MPH so as to avoid the slow, rutted, truck lane. It was worth it, even at the cost of using more fuel.

Badly rutted I-80 near Donner Pass.

I drove with the faster traffic in the left lanes much of the way down I-80 to the valley. Once below about 3000 feet, I could stay mostly in the right lane, or truck lane, as the rutting was much less. Geez, I hate driving Donner!

Donner Summit, and it was nearly all downhill from there!

I ran the dash air conditioner as I approached the valley, and was very disappointed that it was blowing warm air, not cold. I’d used it a few hours when I headed east and it seemed Ok, but something was amiss, and this after having spent $1600 to have it “fixed” before the trip. I would address the problem, again, at home.

At this point when dropping down from the mountains into the valley, the first long straightaway in many miles, it is clear that the mountain driving is done.

The rest of the drive was as usual, and I was a mighty happy camper to finally arrive home. After greeting my sweet Lavonne, the real work portion of my day began as I unloaded the coach. It’s the loading and the unloading that makes me think I’m getting too old for RVing, but nevertheless, I got it all done.

At the offramp near our home, a local police officer appeared to be moving a couple of homeless types off the shoulder of the ramp – an area that was once taken over by homeless people. The homeless seem to be everywhere in Kalifornistan. Yep – I was back home.

When I was finished unloading, I idled the coach down to the RV lot and dumped the tanks and filled the fresh water tank. Big Blue was very dirty from all the miles of rain, but she’d have to wait for a good cleaning with the new pressure washer. I backed her under the oversize carport that is her home, and was done for the time being. I was absolutely pooped from the driving and unloading, and headed for the shower.

I was disappointed that my adventure was cut short by the problems with the fridge, but I was pleased to be home. And again, the dash air conditioner needed attention. Such are the issues with RVing, but I would take care of them before the next adventure.

Life is good with Big Blue!


About FishWisher

Over the years I have posted many exciting fishing and boating stories here, but now in my seventies (oops, now 80s!), it was time to sell the boat and find less demanding pastimes. All the fishing stories are still here! I will now post my travels aboard the motorhome and other activities. I hope y'all will still enjoy the fishing and boating adventures and perhaps peek in on my post-boating activities on occasion. Thanks for dropping in and I hope you enjoy your visit.
This entry was posted in Travel: Allen's, Travel: Chicken Runs, Travel: Interstate Adventure!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Denver or Bust – and Beyond! June 2023

  1. Sandy and Jim Aerts says:

    Why is peanut butter a treat? It’s high in protein and fiber. UNLESS a diabetic.

    We just got our first rain in over some 3 weeks. It was a slow, steady rain other than a single burst. Ended up with just under an inch, like the weather man said. It sure did green up the grasses around here.

    I’ve been having numerous Dr. appointments. Once these are done, I HOPE I’m done till my Medicare check. I’m so tired of the Hospital calling with confirming, and what I need to do! I’m almost ready to SCREAM! I now know what my sister and her husband had to complete before coming to visit us years ago as they aged and try to get them all done in FL before returning to MI. lol

    I’m beginning to wonder if we’ll be able to go and visit my niece and her mother in July, in Whitmore Lake, MI. If I have to, I’ll put off appointments.

    Sorry for my little rant, Dale. I hope that you and LaVonne enjoy your visit with your family.

    Be safe.

    Sandy Aerts

    • FishWisher says:

      Hello, Sandy,

      It was good to hear from you. I missed your visit on my last trip, but glad to hear from you this trip.

      Peanut butter is a treat and never kept at home due to its very high calorie count. Lavonne and I both fight weight, and that sticky stuff is no ally in that endeavor!

      Speaking of rain, our drive today was the rainiest, wettest drive that we can recall. We almost needed a boat instead of an RV.

      I understand your frustrations with medical appointments, etc. We’re both satisfied with our HMO, Kaiser, but we still get frustrated with getting appointments, wait times, etc.

      Thanks for your visit,

      Dale

  2. Sandy and Jim Aerts says:

    I loved the reason why you use the RV park! “Snooty”! Had to laugh at that.

    I and Jim wish you a very Happy Father’s Day! I’m sure you’ll get your blackened chicken thighs.

  3. FishWisher says:

    Thanks, Sandy and Jim, for kind wishes on Father’s Day. We’re at our son’s home for the day, and at this moment the ribs are in the Traeger smoker and the chicken thighs are being basted and will soon be put on the grill for cooking ’til black. mmmmm. Life is good!
    -Dale

Leave a comment